Archive for September 7, 2008

The mosaic tree-Stage 3

A smashing time!

I have been collecting bit of broken plates and pottery and broken it up in a plastic bag into managable sized pieces. You really need to smash it in a bag as otherwise the bits fly all over the place in your general eye direction!
Don’t do that!

I have drawn a rough design on the ball.

Now the sticking begins.

I bought a tile adhesive that is designed for bathrooms and is waterproof.
I’ve got some tile nippers that I can cut up the pieces of pottery into the general shapes I want, but they are not great quality, so the shapes are a bit rough. I don’t mind as I’m a bit too impatient to bother with fiddly little pieces anyway.

Slowly but surely I have stuck on leaf shapes, a butterfly and dark green stems, and it’s starting to come together.
It’s really theraputic, like doing a jigsaw puzzle.
The plates and pottery that I have used are all different thicknesses, so the surface of the mosaic will be uneven. You can see in the picture below how the flower petals stick up.
I like that, and I’ll regard that as a deliberate feature!

Lastly the best bit.
Grouting the mosaic ball.
I used a waterproof grey grout which pulls the design together.
Now it looks like a real mosaic!

I still have the other ball to do, and after that I’ll show you the next stage of attaching the balls to the iron bars to make them into topiaries.
(When I’ve figured out how to do it)

September 7, 2008 at 9:50 am Leave a comment


Subscribe to Off the Wall Children’s DIY Murals

Categories

Feeds

Link to us-grab this button

http://www.wallstory.wordpress.com

Top Posts

bpb-2.png
projectnursery

Bits and Bobs

MMT

Awards

Marie Antoinette Award

Follow me on twitter

Twitter Updates

    FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

    Wallstory Tweets

    Blog Stats

    • 1,065,248 hits

    Stumble Me!

    September 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  

    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 29 other followers